Home

Today I’ll be talking about BB cremes and the reasons for my everlasting obsession with them. Throughout the past 2 years they’ve been an inevitable step of my makeup routine and I’m never trading back for liquid foundation. Trust me, I’ve had my fair share of BB cremes…

IMG_4447

A quick throwback: Being stuck with mild acne and dry skin, I always believed I needed to reach for full coverage products. Until I became sick of them clogging my pores and making my skin look cakey… (Oh, and don’t even get me started on trying to blow your nose without ruining your makeup – good luck with that one!) The main issue was me not feeling confident without (face) makeup. To this day I’d pick a flawless skin look over a glamorous eye look – if given the choice. And then I stumbled upon BB cremes, also known as blemish or beauty balms. We are talking lightweight formulas, a touch of coverage (buildable if desired), moisture and just the right amount of SPF. The best part, however, is that BB cremes will always give you that healthy, happy glow.

So, without further babbling, let’s get on to the reviews. For the purpose of comparison I picked three high-end BB cremes that are currently on the market:

1. Estée Lauder DayWear BB Creme SPF 35

This is the BB creme I am currently using. I like it a lot, especially the fresh cucumber scent, very typical for Estée Lauder’s DayWear series (trust me, rating scents does make a huge difference, considering you’re wearing the product all day long). This one offers a bit more coverage than the average BB creme and is perfect for normal to combination skin.

IMG_4388

2. Kiehl’s Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB Cream SPF 50

Out of all the BB cremes I went through, this one has to be my all-time winner. Hands down. As mentioned in this previous post, I fell in love with it this past summer and it lasted me all throughout fall. Never have I received that many compliments on my glowy, dewy, healthy-looking skin. The only downside is the high percentage of SPF, making it smell like pure sun lotion – however you get used to the scent after a week or so.

IMG_4429

3. Clinique Age Defence BB Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30

Aside from the unique chemical scent, which Clinique products are famous for, this is a good BB creme. It does the job well, offering a bit more coverage than the average BB creme. However, it didn’t sweep me off my feet. If you’re like me, applying cremes all over the face and ending up with product stuck to your eyebrows, this will be a hard one. Usually a wet spooly helps, but as this BB creme has great coverage, it will be harder to get out.

IMG_4440

Now, I’m aware of the fact that not everyone can afford high-end brands. If you’re looking for a cheap alternative, I’d highly recommend Garnier’s Miracle Skin Perfector. I’ve especially loved it during summer.

Are you a fan of BB cremes? Which brands have you tried so far? What is your opinion? Leave your thoughts in the comments!

Take care & read you soon – xoxo,

Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-07 um 20.34.28

*Disclaimer: Non-sponsored article, all opinions are my own

3 thoughts on “It’s All About The BB.

  1. Pingback: Kiehl’s Favorites. | it's sophunny

  2. Pingback: Review: Origins VitaZing™ Moisturizer | it's sophunny

  3. Pingback: Review: Origins VitaZing™ | it's sophunny

Leave a Reply

