Home

One of the most common beauty-related questions I get is on my current makeup essentials… Be it my girlfriends, my mommy or various instagrammers. Granted, I have always been super fond of makeup and I am sure I have spend one or two hours too many drooling over Youtube gurus doing their thing (f.i. the ever amazing British makeup artist Lisa Eldridge). Now, I don’t consider myself a pro and I’m definitely not the experimental kind of girl – but when it comes to pampering myself, I do take up quite some bathroom time in the mornings. To me, it’s all about a simple, minimalistic, dewy look. Let’s face it: Who actually has the time to create fascinating smokey eyes or colorful statement lips on a daily basis? That’s why, over the years, I’ve established my own little routine that matches any occasion, especially the work place. So, without further ado, here goes my daily makeup routine:

IMG_3302

1. After thoroughly cleaning my face with a strong toner, I start off by using a soothing moisturizer, which would currently be Clinique’s Redness Solutions Cream. As I have been suffering from mild acne throughout the past 9 years, I take these first steps very seriously. Within the past year or so my skin has cleared up like crazy (to the point where there’s barely any spots left, unless it’s that time of month of course), which tells me I must be doing something right – thank heavens!

2. For the face: Over time I have learned to lay off pore-clogging foundations and steer towards lightweight BB cremes. By now I have tried countless of brands (stay tuned for a separate post about my reviews!) and I don’t think I’ll ever go back to full coverage products. My current go-to is Kiehl’s Actively Correcting & Beautifying BB Cream – It does the job well, however the high percentage of sunscreen gives it an odd scent. I like mixing it with a drop or two of my holy Estée Lauder Idealist Pure Minimizing Skin Refinisher serum (which smells fantastic, by the way).

IMG_3313

3. Next I apply some MAC Studio Finish Concealer (an all time favorite of mine – I swear by this baby) under my eyes and around my nose, some MAC Select Sheer Pressed Powder, a bit of Estée Lauder PC Blush on my cheeks as well as a hint of MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Shimmer on my cheek bones and temples.

IMG_3317

4. In terms of brows, I like using a simple H&M Brow Pencil along with a spooly. To my surprise, tons of girls casually ignore filling in their brows… Unless you’re blessed with a perfectly shaped pair, you should never skip this step. Brows frame your face and instantly change up your whole look (Cara Delevingne, anyone?!). For the eyes, I normally reach for some Maybelline Expression White Eyeliner and lots of Estée Lauder Sumptuous Bold Volume Lifting Mascara to create the illusion of bigger eyes. On those rare days where I have some extra time on my hands (or if I’m feeling super fancy), I’ll draw on a slight cat eye with L’Oréal’s Super Liner.

IMG_3319

There you go – my daily makeup routine. Which products do you reach for in the mornings? Let me know in the comments below!

Take care & read you soon – xoxo,

Soph

9 thoughts on “My Daily Makeup Routine.

  1. Very nice blog ofi- nicely written – i myself need 4 1/2 minutes with my makeup – the rest is done in za car! like u this morning::))

  2. Pingback: It’s All About The BB. | it's sophunny

  3. Pingback: Kiehl’s Favorites. | it's sophunny

  4. Pingback: Review: Origins VitaZing™ Moisturizer | it's sophunny

  5. Pingback: Review: Origins VitaZing™ | it's sophunny

Leave a Reply

